Skip to toolbar

A word to inspire me throughout 2020

Site-Wide Activity Forums Living Room Reflections A word to inspire me throughout 2020

Tagged: 

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author

I’ve been contemplating which word would inspire me for 2020. This is a practice that Satya started either last year or before.

Of course the words that come to mind, immediately, and the only ones that really matter, are the nembutsu – Namo Amida Bu or, in one word form, Namandabu.

But for this year specifically?

Having relinquished some of my responsibilities recently, I am drawn to spend more time contemplatively. And to put more attention on reading and crafting. This won’t preclude other activities or activism. But I’m not feeling shouty. There are enough people shouting. And shouting does have its place – there’s a lot going on politically and, most critically, environmentally, that should be brought to peoples’ attention, along with urges to ‘do something’ or to ‘stop doing …’.

What are the words that are coming to me to consider? Quiet, the Scottish form of that, which I prefer, Wheesht (I’m reading an excellent book on creativity called Wheesht, by Kate Davies). But the word that seems to claim me, seems to have chosen itself, is Listen.

So stopping, not clamouring or being taken over by clamour, which can drown out important messages, but listening. What is that person really wanting to say? What response is appropriate at this moment, if any? What is nature telling me?  What am I learning – and it seems that my ageing confirms how little I know? What can I create that chimes with this mindset?

And onto my Facebook page this morning – how synchronous – popped something I posted two years ago:

“When you talk you are only repeating something you already know. But, if you listen you may learn something new “

~  HH The Dalai Lama

So, Listen, it is.

What word would you choose for the year ahead?

Tommy Bradshaw
      Participant